The Angel's Share

The Harlem Chamber Players

A Lament for Troubled Times

The Green-Wood Cemetery 500 25th St Brooklyn, NY 11232


Program will repeat three times each day at the top of each hour (12 pm, 1 pm, and 2 pm)

Free, but RSVP is recommended.

Seating is limited and on a first come, first seated basis. An RSVP does not guarantee a seat. Attendees can only attend one performance an afternoon, and will need to queue in line (keeping a safe distance) before each performance. No chairs or blankets permitted.

Social distancing will be enforced at each performance. Attendees must wear masks and keep a distance of 6 feet from one another.

This is a Free Event!
Sold Out
Get Tickets
Sold Out
Not Available Yet
Sold Out
Sold Out
Sold Out, Join the Waitlist!
the long version

In times of turmoil, music has a unique ability to unite us, and remind us of the things that truly matter. Death of Classical, in partnership with Green-Wood, is honored to present a quartet of members of The Harlem Chamber Players, performing music by George Walker and Florence Price. The performances take place atop the Hill of Graves, with sweeping views of Green-Wood’s idyllic landscape, and are free and open to the public. Seating is limited and is on a first come first seated basis. Attendees must adhere to all safety protocols as directed by Cemetery staff. 

The quartet will perform George Walker’s String Quartet No. 1 and Florence Price’s String Quartet in G major. Walker’s piece includes his profound “Lyric”—originally titled “Lament”—which was written in memory of his grandmother, who had been a slave. Price’s quartet, like all of her works, has a sound that is at once timeless and familiar, seamlessly incorporating African-American spirituals, European classical traditions, and her own unique musical voice.

The short version

A free gift to the city we love - glorious, soul-filling music performed by four of the best.

The Music

The Artists

Members of the Harlem Chamber Players

Ashley Horne, violin
Clair Chan, violin
Amadi Azikiwe, viola
Wayne Smith, cello